Music Musicology Poetry Gallery

Ils sont heureux
for baritone, trombone, and piano
Boston Series
1969; 4:28 min.


This composition is an example of "free composition", meaning that no score synthesis program was used. The text is taken from the Elégies of the French poet Guillevic, published in Exécutoire (1947), with permission of the poet. The composition adopts the title of the poem.

Ils sont heureux
Ceux pour qui l'eau
Est la patrie.

Ils voient les lacs et les
Et tout s'apaise
Dans la bénédiction des eaux.

Plus loins, plus bas, au fond
de l'eau,
Est le secret qui les conduit,
Rêvant et soulevés
Par le vent de l'aval.

Ils s'assoient dans les joncs
et voient que tout s'achève
Dans l'eau que se souvient
D'avoir fini sa peine.

They are happy,
those for whom
water is home.

They see the lakes and
and all comes to rest
in the water's benediction.

Farther away, deeper, at
water's bottom,
is the secret that guides them,
dreaming and slightly lifted
by the wind downstream.

They sit down in the rush
and see that all completes itself
in the water, which remembers
to be done with all pains.

(Translation by Otto Laske)

Ils sont heureux was premiered at Oslo Conservatory, Oslo, Norway,
in 1973.